top of page

FOLLOW ME:

I Bought Wrong Domain, Can I Get A Refund?


Did it happen to you? You were trying to buy a domain and purchased another domain that you didn’t want to? It happened to me several days ago. At that time, I was very tired, feeling very sleepy. But I got my international debit card in my hand, using that I could purchase anything (not illegal things of course) from the internet. I was very excited to test it as I never used an international debit card by my own to purchase anything from the internet! As a result, at 2 a.m. I logged into my name.com account and was searching for domain “SEO Service Provider” but I was not able to get any suitable one. Then I noticed that there were some new TLD domain available and I was very interested to see a similar domain name that matched with my current domain. I was so excited that I instantly completed the order and without re-checking everything (domain name, renewal bill, etc.) I purchased that domain with my international debit card. I was so happy. But… What’s that domain? Why its “SeoSeoProvider” instead of “SEO Service Provider“? I was very confused, angry and I was completely awake at that time realizing that my $16.99 could be gone in drain. One quick suggestion to my readers, “Don’t do anything important while you are feeling sleepy!“. I instantly searched in Google, I bought wrong domain, can I get a refund? But I was unable to find any satisfactory answers from search results. I visited some related articles and all of those were saying that, once a domain was purchased you couldn’t get a refund! So I gave my last try and submitted following queries to name.com support email:

Hello Sir,

I am name.com user. My username is Ekhlas. Yesterday I was trying to buy seoserviceprovider domain but I got seoseoprovider domain somehow! Now I want a refund for seoseoprovider so that I can buy the correct one: seoserviceprovider

Please help me on this. I have been using name.com for last 2 years and I never faced this kind of awkward situation. Please refund my $16.99

Thanks and eagerly waiting to hear from you. After sending them email, I shut down my laptop and went to sleep. I woke up in the early morning (I couldn’t sleep well last night!), instantly checked my email through iPhone. It’s been six hours but didn’t get any response from name.com! So I opened my laptop, signed into my name.com account (that pathetic domain was still there!) and then signed into support.name.com and created a new request through admin panel

Hello Name.com,

My name.com username is Ekhlas. I would like to cancel my previous transaction order of seoseoprovider

I was trying to buy seoserviceprovider but I have no idea how I got seoseoprovider!

Please cancel my seoseoprovider order so that I can buy seoserviceprovider

*Thanks and Best Regards,*

Ekhlas

At that time, I had nothing to do but to wait to get their response on this.

After twelve hours or so I got a respond from name.com for my first message that I sent though Gmail. Here is their message:

Hello,

Thank you for your email. In the event that a user purchased the incorrect domain name, we simply need to delete and refund the incorrect domain name. We will issue a refund in the form of account credit. Once this is done, you are advised to log in and purchase the domain name that you actually want.

We need you to respond to this email from the Name.com admin email contact and verify that you understand that the domain will be deleted and refunded. This means that you will no longer have control of the deleted domain.

If this sounds good to you, please respond at your soonest convenience.

Sincerely,

XXXX – Name.com Ah I was feeling lucky. I responded immediately and told them to delete that domain. While I was waiting, I received second response from support center. Please carefully check the following message as it will be helpful for you:

Bernice Gutierrez, Sep 26 01:39 PM:

Hello Ekhlas,

Thank you for contacting Name.com. I apologize for the inconvenience. As a one time courtesy, we offer customers a 5 day grace period, in which we will refund customers that have mistakenly registered or renewed a domain.

In order to do this, we have to delete the domain, and all of its content, from our database. We ask that you respond to this email from the administrative email address associated with your account, and confirm that it is okay to delete the domain from our database and any data and content has been backed up. Once you have confirmed, we will delete the domain and issue your refund if you have registered or renewed them within the last 5 days. We cannot cancel if it is past that date, since we have paid the registry for the domain and can only be refunded ourselves if it cancels within 5 days.

Please note that once a domain is deleted it can be restored back to your account for a period of 30 days. We would however require a restoration fee from you in the amount of $130.99. This includes a year’s renewal for the domain.

If you would like the domain deleted, please respond we are happy to provide you with further assistance.

Best regards,

Bernice Gutierrez

Name.com Now this is what I call support. Bernice gave me everything that I wanted to know or in my mind. So I responded to her email saying that I created another ticket for this issue and asked her to close that ticket. As I found her email very helpful and informative, I asked her to assist me on this issue. Here I got her second response:

Hello Ekhlas,

Thanks for the response. Per your request the domain has been refunded on your behalf. Please note you will receive the refund within 3-5 days. Please let us know if you have any further questions or concerns.

– Also I have merged the two tickets.

Best regards,

Bernice Gutierrez

Name.com Finally I got my refund ($16.99 full) after 3 business days. I was lucky that I didn’t give up my hope and took necessary steps to solve the issue. I personally thank to Name.com for their support specially Bernice for her excellent support. I gave her my highest feedback score in admin panel and closed my ticket. So, if you mistakenly purchased any domain from name.com, you can ask their assistant within 5 days. Please note, it is wise to ask their help right after you realize that you purchased unwanted domain. Name.com is an excellent domain provider company and I vouch them for their service.

Disclaimer: This article first published on http://www.seo-service-provider.org/, we have shared this article here as we believe it will help more people who are searching relevant topics. You can check this article here.

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

No tags yet.
bottom of page